2.15.2006

I've Been There...

Extremely relative to what we read in BECA 670 this week...

I work as a Senior Resident Assistant in Mard Ward Hall for the SFSU Housing Dept. I'd like to share more about my job but frankly, I CAN'T!

That's where I begin my story. You see, as an RA, your work is your home. You go to school, you come home, and you're in your office. It is a non-stop 25-hour day because you cannot get away. If you want to get away, you're not at home anymore. Luckily for me, I'm a pretty good master of the skill of getting away, but it is still a very high-stress, thankless, slave-driver job.



It's nearly impossible to express your opinion. In fact, I'm not even sure if I'm allowed to be typing this. Because SFSU H&RS is 100% Anti-Blog. RAs HAVE been fired or put on professional probation because they blog about the job, either directly ("I HATE MY EMPLOYEES!") or indirectly ("TODAY WAS A SHITTY DAY.") No lie. They're sticklers.

Superiors don't understand people my age, especially in high-stress environments, need a place to vent. Characteristic of our generation, The Millennials, the use of interactive technology (ie: Blogs, MySpace, AIM) is that venue.

As RAs, we can't turn to each other to bitch because we're all going through the same thing. We can't bitch to our friends because "No one knows what it's like to be an RA than another RA." We can't turn to alcohol or recreational drugs because we'll get fired.

So instead, RAs have a tradition of blogging on LiveJournal.com (LJ). We're all there. We finish work, we need to unwind... we write and read each other's LJs because it's the only way we can bitch and relate to each other without feeling like we're under the microscope. BUT WE STILL ARE!

Some supervisors read the RAs' blogs and if there's an ounce of subordination or scandal, we get fired, no questions asked. I have been brought into my employer's office TWICE because of a slight slip-up on my LJ that wasn't even carrying any emotional value. It was fact and still I was asked to take it down.

Just like the SF Gate Article, we are under the same guidelines. Employees of SFSU Housing cannot post pictures of themself in uniform other than at SFSU Housing events. We cannot share any information that isn't public knowledge (even if it is just facts). And we most definitely are asked not to share opinions of the job, other employees, or residents. All at the risk of termination.

And it sucks so bad. For example, yesterday something really really really REALLY shitty happened on staff. LIKE REALLY SHITTY! But I can't tell a goddamn soul other than my mother. Is that healthy? And people wonder why anxiety, over-eating, depression, and teenage-alcohol use is on the rise... Maybe because we're freakin' fucked up in the head and have no other outlet but prescription meds?

1 Comments:

Blogger Jenni said...

I'm sorry you had such a rough day. I know this may seem trivial and lame, but for some reason, when I see ice skating (in any form) I instantly squeal and clap my hands at the absurdity and hilarious costumes. Be thankful you don't have a job where it is mandatory to wear spandex, and perform spread eagles (or whatever they call it) for all the world to see. (GULP!)

I spent hours yesterday combing the NBC Olympics ice skating Web site. Trust me, it's crazy stuff. Check out the Russian skater Plushenko. (you will die!) Cheers Eugene and feel better!

2/15/2006 8:06 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home